Survival Tips for the Visual Frontier with Keith Jenkins [VIDEO]

Jun 12, 2012

In this webinar, Senior Producer for Multimedia, Keith Jenkins, explains the good, the bad and the ugly when it comes to navigating the visual frontier.  Keith discusses what types of photographs to use for engaging storytelling, how to legally acquire the best photos, and the ethics of using photography in print and online.

The Five Main Types of Photos

1. The Scene Setter

2. The Medium Shot

3. The Portrait

4. The Detail Shot

5. The Action Shot

Finding Photographic Gold

1. A.P

2. Getty

3. Getty/Flickr

4. Creative Commons

Guiding Principles for Journalists

1. Seek truth and report it as fully as possible

2. Act independently

2. Minimize harm